A Dysautonomia/POTS Doctor worth mentioning

In the video in my prior post, there is a physician named Dr. Svetlana Blitshteyn who is very knowledgeable about POTS and its pathophysiology, its misconceptions, and its treatments. I wanted to attach a link to her website, as I had the opportunity to consult with her via phone and found her to be very helpful and informative.

http://www.drblitshteyn.com/

She is taking new patients, but also does phone consults for those who are either too sick or too far away to see her in her office. For those of you struggling to find a good POTS doctor, I would recommend utilizing her services as part of your process.

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kerry on June 12, 2012 at 8:10 am

    My neurologist isn’t picking any of these symptoms up and dismissing it for stress eventhough I’m not stresses and the biggest draw back is I have 9 – 12 months before I see him again.
    I have a lot of these symptoms I’ve been off work for awhile now and I think the tilt table should have been the first test done. My life is on hold the docs don’t seem in a rush.
    Symptoms include dry mouth very thirsty, tired, feel weak, tachycardia up to 149 bpm , on standing dizzyness lightheaded Stomache is odd and makes me quezy I have vomited a few times I can also feel something wash over me now I think that’s when my blood pressure drops as they have said when I’m sat down my blood pressure is too low 70/66 blured vision Syncope/ blackouts I freeze on the spot no movement vision or speach it can last from 10 – 60 seconds cold shivers or hot sweats shakes urine is often dark and sweet smell blood sugar often at night is 4.3 – 4.6 mmol I walk drunk often confusion disorientation and I have spells where I appear ok but I’m not with it this happened on my first visit to the neurologist and he didn’t
    notice that I was struggling to answer questions I can be jumpy and I come out with strainge things talk rubbish none of this was picked up at the time this worrys me as I have gone to a neurologist for help that I’m not getting.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Judi Schwab on July 21, 2012 at 2:34 am

    I had a phone consultation with Dr. Blitshteyn today. She was very thorough and focused while reviewing and questioning me indepth about my medical history and symptoms. She answered so many of my questions regarding dysautonomia. She also offered additional treatments to help improve the quality of my life. She was helpful, kind and very knowledgeable. I would highly recommend her……..what a breath of fresh air after searching for 8+ – years for a doctor that is knowledgeable about my condition. It feels so good to know that she is there and available to help.

    Reply

    • Posted by Paula Brandl on February 10, 2013 at 2:11 am

      Hi Judy, are you still working with Dr B? If so, have you found it helpful for your symptoms? I am considering calling her.. Thanks so much!

      Reply

      • Posted by Judi Schwab on February 10, 2013 at 10:16 pm

        Hi Paula,
        So far I have had two phone consultations with Dr. Blitsheteyn. She is very knowledgeable and helpful in treating Dysautonomia………I believe it would be worth the call. Write up a list of questions prior to your call and record it so that you can hear the information again if necessary. Good luck and feel well. Judi

  3. Hi, I just wanted to say that I’m a fan of your blog and that I nominated you for the “sisterhood of the world bloggers award”. http://connectivetissuedisorders.wordpress.com/2012/09/17/sisterhood-of-the-world-bloggers-award/

    Reply

  4. I savour, lead to I discovered just what I was having a look for.

    You have ended my four day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man.
    Have a nice day. Bye

    Reply

Leave a Reply

